Fellows & Researchers

A 'Fellow' is someone elected under the College Statutes to share in the governance of the College as a member of our Governing Body, and to undertake teaching, research and/or administrative duties. All of our College Officers, including Tutors & Admissions Tutors are Fellows. Most of our Director of Studies (DoSs) are also drawn from the 'Fellowship'.

Under the College Statutes there are different categories of Fellow:

  • Official Fellows & Professorial Fellows normally hold a College Lectureship, and teach undergraduates in their subject. They are also active in research. Most hold a University appointment (as a Lecturer or Professor), but some hold a fulltime College Office as a College Teaching Officer, or in a College administrative role.
  • Research Fellows are postdoctoral researchers, elected by the College for a period of three years. They often do some undergraduate supervising, but their primary role is to pursue their own research.
  • Someone who has been a Fellow for 25 years or more can become a Life Fellow. They continue to be members of the Governing Body until the age of 70, and often continue with faculty duties, and teaching & research.

We also use the title 'Fellow' to refer to others who have a close association with the College. They are not members of the Governing Body and are not responsible for College governance, but contribute to the College in other ways.

  • Emeritus Fellows are those who have been Fellows for seven years, before retiring from the College & the University. They often continue to be active in their research area, and some still teach.
  • Honorary Fellows are usuallybut not exclusivelyelected from amongst the College membership, and are chosen for their achievements in public life.
  • ByeFellows are appointed by virtue of a teaching or other significant association with the College.

In addition, we use the title of College Research Associate (CRA) for postdoctoral researchers who assist the College in various ways, most usually through undergraduate teaching or through research collaboration with a Fellow of the College.

You can find below a searchable list of our entire Fellowship:

90 Fellows listed:

Photo of Professor Robert Macfarlane

Professor Robert Macfarlane BA, Ph.D. (Cantab), MPhil (Oxon)

Official Fellow

Director of Studies in English
Professor of Literature and the Environmental Humanities

Photo of Dr Emma Stone Mackinnon

Dr Emma Stone Mackinnon BA (Harvard) MA (Chicago) PhD (Chicago)

Official Fellow

University Assistant Professor in History

Photo of Professor John Maclennan

Professor John Maclennan BA, PhD

Official Fellow

Director of Studies in Natural Sciences (Biological and Physical)
Professor of Igneous Petrology

Photo of Professor David Maxwell

Professor David Maxwell BA (Manch) DPhil (Oxon)

Professorial Fellow

Director of Studies in History
Dixie Professor of Ecclesiastical History

Photo of Dr Ioanna Mela

Dr Ioanna Mela

Official Fellow

Photo of Professor Alexander Mitov

Professor Alexander Mitov MSc (Sofia) PhD (Sofia) MSc (Rochester) PhD (Rochester)

Official Fellow

Director of Studies in Natural Sciences (Biological and Physical)
Professor of Theoretical Physics

Photo of Professor Laura Moretti

Professor Laura Moretti MA (Venice) MA(Cantab) PHD (Venice)

Official Fellow

Director of Studies in Asian & Middle Eastern Studies
Professor of Early Modern Japanese Literature and Culture; Director of Postgraduate Studies (AMES)

Photo of Dr Elise J Needham

Dr Elise J Needham

Research Fellow

Photo of Professor Stephen Oakley

Professor Stephen Oakley MA, PhD, FBA

Professorial Fellow

Member of the College Council
Kennedy Professor of Latin